My Bags are Packed…

So I am leaving the country for a bit and want to let you guys know why.

In the last year or so I have found myself back in the community of a church family, an amazing group of people who come from a variety of back grounds with many different stories.  Each one unique to the person but all with a common thread, we all know we need Jesus.  I have not been very vocal about all of this mostly for the shear fact that I am such a poor representation of who and what he is, but I do believe this, I would not be the person I am today if it was not for the fact that God so loved the world that he gave his only son to save a sinner such as me.

Some may scoff at that statement, but it’s the truth and sometimes we as humans respond in fear to certain truths because we have reason to be afraid of that truth.  We start playing the what if games, the than what happens games, the games where we know with absolute certainty that we can’t win on our own and it terrifies us.

Why am I telling you any of this?  Because I believe my God has told us to go into the world across it’s borders and the fence in our backyards and reach out in love those we meet.  So this summer I am slapping a stamp in my passport to go hang out with children saved from the street in the country of Nicaragua.

Nicaragua is a small country roughly the size of the state of New York, however, I just recently realized that there are 8 active volcanoes in the country.  Having experience an eruption of fairly large proportions in my early childhood (the sky turned black in the middle of the day, there were rocks falling out of the sky, red lighting was shooting through the air) this has struck a mild amount of angst for me, but I’ll get over it I suppose, I really don’t have a choice.  I am traveling with a group from the church I am attending to volunteer my time and services to a home for rescued street kids call Arms of Love (http://www.armsoflove.org/)

People keep asking what I will be doing down there and I struggle with the open ended-ness of my response because I am seeing already how hung up I am at needing a very specific plan, well folks the plan is, there is no plan, that’s the plan.  That being said we are doing vbs with the kids, helping the dorm parents however they need us to help and in general just loving on children who were forced to face the evil of this world well before they ever should have known of its existence.

I find myself excited, nervous, scared and excited again; if I sleep at all tonight it will be a miracle.  So I have been praying but not normal prayers more like the prayers of a 4 year old hopped up on mountain dew trying to cut a deal with a parent for a few more minutes up before having to go to bed.  I have been asking for stuff just to realize that an open and willing heart, open and listening ears, and hands ready for the tasks laid before me are what’s needed.

So this is what I ask of you who read this, whether you believe in God or not, pray, however and whatever you feel is necessary, pray.

I’ll be back in a week and let you know how it went.

Leave a Reply

